• It was developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University.


  • The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) is a framework that provides guidelines for developing and improving the software processes of an organization.


  • Organizations can use the CMM framework to assess their current software development processes and identify areas for improvement.
  • The CMM provides a roadmap for organizations to improve their software development processes and to move from lower to higher levels of maturity.


  • The goal of the CMM is to help organizations develop high-quality software that meets the needs of their customers, is delivered on time, and is within budget.

Levels of CMM

  • CMM is a five-level model that describes the maturity of an organization’s software development processes. By adopting best practices at each level of CMM, organizations can improve the quality of their software products, reduce costs, and increase customer satisfaction.
  • The CMM consists of five levels of maturity, with each level building upon the previous one:
    • Level 1 – Initial:

      • At this level, the organization’s software development processes are ad-hoc and chaotic, with little or no documentation. The success of the project depends largely on the individual skills of the project team members.

    • Level 2 – Repeatable:

      • At this level, basic project management processes are established and documented. These processes are repeatable, and the success of the project is less dependent on the individual skills of the team members.

    • Level 3 – Defined:

      • At this level, the organization has developed a set of standard processes for software development and project management. These processes are well-documented, and the organization has a clear understanding of how to implement them.

    • Level 4 – Managed:

      • At this level, the organization has implemented a set of metrics to measure the effectiveness of its software development processes. The organization has established quantitative goals for process improvement, and it regularly monitors its progress toward achieving those goals.

    • Level 5 – Optimizing:

      • At this level, the organization’s focus is on continuous process improvement. The organization regularly collects and analyzes data to identify areas for improvement and implements changes to its processes to improve quality and efficiency.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.